Everything You Need For Moving In To Your First House

 

I’ve been moved out for around 7 months now, so I feel like I’ve got a good sense of all thing home by now. I remember a week before we moved in, I freaked out because I had no idea what I needed and forgot everything that you’re supposed to have in a house.

obviously living at home before, my parents were the ones that always bought things, so it was essentially a lot of silly things you don’t think about because it’s just ‘there’ all the time.

Thankfully I was lucky with my rented flat as it was pre- furnished, but I’ve also included furniture too because y’know, probs going to need to refer back to this at a later point in life when I move.

So any first time movers out there, do not fear! For I have all the items you need and also some recommendations on some places to buy for anyone with a budget.

Hallway/ Entrance

  • Door Mat
  • Coat Rack
  • Shoe Rack

Living Room:

Living Room

Side note- this room in the house has so many different names its a joke. I speak to people who call it all different types if things; family room/ lounge/ front room/ living room. why is that?

  • Sofa/s
  • Cushions
  • Blankets (necessary for binge nights and cold winters!)
  • Coffee table
  • TV Cabinet
  • Dining Table
  • TV
  • Lamp/s
  • Clock
  • Curtains/ Blinds/ Net Curtain
  • Shelving
  • Coasters
  • Dinner Mats

Kitchen:

I genuinely didn’t realize how many kitchen items I’ve accumulated over time (mostly unnecessary things like sundae/ milkshake glasses) But you have no idea how many things you forget you use on a daily basis until you’re about to serve your pasta and realize you don’t have a colander to drain the water with. šŸŒš

  • Microwave
  • Fridge/ Freezer
  • Cooker
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Washing Machine
  • Tea/ Coffee/ Sugar Pots
  • Bread bin
  • Dish rack
  • Cutlery Storage
  • Tumbledryer (not essential)
  • Dishwasher (Again, definitely optional)
  • Plates/ Bowls
  • Glasses (normal/ wine/ champagne)
  • Knifes/ Forks/ Spoons
  • Cutting Knifes
  • Cutting Boards
  • Colander
  • Mixing Bowls
  • Baking Trays
  • Wooden spoons/ Spatula/ Ladel/ Wisk
  • Tongs
  • Can/ Bottle Opener
  • Rolling Pin
  • Pots/ Pans/ Wok/ Frying Pan
  • Food Scales
  • Measuring Cups
  • Bin (preferably two for general waste/ Recycling if you have room!)
  • Scissors

Bathroom:

Clean Af Mat

I feel like this is most self explanatory, however I did forget recently to buy toilet paper for almost a week and a half  (dw, we were borrowing rolls from Mareks mum who fortunately lives very close, as to avoid leaving pee trails everywhere we went.)

  • Shower Curtain
  • Towels/ Hand Towels/ Face Cloths
  • Bath Mat
  • Toothbrushes
  • Toothbrush Holder
  • Soap/ Dispenser
  • Toilet Rug? What are they even called?!
  • Medical Box (Pain Killers, Plasters, Savalon, Bandages ect.)
  • Small Bin
  • Storage (for pads, tampons, extra razors ect.)
  • Plunger
  • Bleach

Bedroom:

My favorite place because bed=life, so invest in that shit. Let it feel like you’re falling into a cloud every time you climb into bed. You deserve it.

  • Bedframe
  • Mattress
  • Pillows/ Duvet/ Bedding
  • Drawers
  • Wardrobe
  • Hangers (LOTS)
  • Bedside Tables
  • Lamp/s
  • Mirror
  • Dressing Table (if your lucky enough to have room)

 

Other:

This is all the other things I believe are essential moving in, but I didn’t know what other category to fit them in.

  • Hoover
  • Clothes Horse
  • Iron
  • Ironing Board
  • Mop
  • Dustpan and brush
  • Rubber Gloves
  • Laundry Bin
  • Extension Leads
  • Tools
  • Glue
  • Tape
  • Antibacterial Wipes
  • Window/ Glass Cleaner
  • Sponges

I feel like I’ve still forgotten things so if I remember I’ll update, but most of these things can be found for relatively cheap prices in places like Ikea, Matalan, And Wilko, all great quality!

Things I’d suggest investing a bit more in would be things like your pots/ pans/ wok/ frying pans, and your cutting knifes, because it starts to show fairly quickly if they’re not made to last.

Find me on:

instagram | twitter | bloglovin | pinterest

Leave a Reply

