Spending Money And Not Feeling Guilty About It

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In the wise words of the infamous Tom Havorford & his partner in crime Donna, “Treat yo’ self.” Which is something I’ve been trying to drill into my brain for a while now.

I grew up in a family who could pay bills, buy food and that was about as far as income would stretch. I learned that you had to plan your budget carefully, and luxury’s were something you either saved for or couldn’t have.

I appreciate this way of life very much so, as it’s helped me to be very frugal with my money and I always have everything paid for and accounted for no matter what.

(p.s.  the word ‘frugal’ always reminds me of the trait you can give your sims which is where I originally learnt it 😂)

However, this way of life has also made me very reluctant to spend money on almost ANYTHING other than what I consider important like bills. I was literally forced by Marek to buy new underwear and socks because he couldn’t stand the sight of how worn out they were any longer.

I even felt bad buying pyjamas, but I was sick of feeling gross in old stained t-shirts and wanted to have cute cool ones like I see all over instagram, so I sucked it up and bought a few pairs.

And you know what? I feel so much better.

I even pulled a bit of an ol’ rebel move today and bought a keyring from skinny dip I’d been eyeing longingly for ages, literally the second I got an email saying it was back in stock, instead of leaving it in the ‘saved items’ section of the Asos app until the end of the universes’ existence.

So here’s to being nicer to myself! Stay tuned for the probable part 2: I Cant Stop Spending once I get too comfortable. *sigh*

tumblr_niwtz6HxlV1qk0j55o6_r1_250

 

Find me on:

instagram | twitter | bloglovin | pinterest

Leave a Reply

